Sanawar School lifts the Soccer trophy

In a high voltage final match of the five days long soccer tournament played between The Lawrence School, Sanawar and Pinegrove School, Dharampur, The Lawrence School, Sanawar clinched a sensational victory in the extra time, defeating Pinegrove 1-0.

Vasuman Chauhan of Sanawar was declared “The Player of the Match” for scoring the winning goal piercing through opponent’s defense line-up. The final match of the tournament was played last evening under the floodlights in the magnificent Barne-field located on the beautiful hilltop of Sanawar.

The tournament ended on a high note with an electrifying final match that kept spectators on the edge of their seats. All together 12 matches were played in the span of five days wherein five teams from across the country vied for the coveted trophy.

In a nail-biting showdown that showcased exceptional sportsmanship and talent, the final match featured the formidable teams of Sanawar and Pinegrove. The crowd was treated to a remarkable display of skill, determination, and teamwork as both teams battled fiercely for the coveted championship. The tension in the air was palpable as the match remained deadlocked in regular time, with neither Sanawar nor Pinegrove yielding an inch. As the clock ticked away, the players gave their all on the field, displaying unmatched dedication and spirit. In the end, it was the team from Sanawar that emerged victorious, clinching the championship in extra time. Their remarkable performance left an indelible mark on the tournament, showcasing their unwavering commitment to the sport of soccer.

The Bhupinder Singh Memorial Soccer Tournament is a renowned annual sporting event of the school which is played in the sacred memory of the legendary Deputy headmaster of the school who served for over four decades in Sanawar with utmost commitment and dedication. The Bhupinder Singh Memorial Soccer Tournament has a rich legacy of promoting the sport of soccer and nurturing young talent from across India. This year’s edition continued in the same vein, offering a platform for budding footballers to exhibit their skills and compete at the highest level. While the host school, The Lawrencer School, Sanawar were declared the champions of the tournament, Pinegrove School, Dharampur secured the first Runners-up position. Aarnav Thapa and Rajvansh Nivedia were judged the “ Best Player of the Tournament” and Best Goal Keeper of the tournament respectively.

The chief guest for the concluding ceremony of the tournament was Dr. Abhishek Jain, Home Sceretary, and Secretary to the Chief Minister , Government of Himachal Pradesh. In his address to the gathering he said, “It is important to participate in sports as sports teach us many life skills like teamwork, leadership and resilience. “

Proposing a vote of thanks, Himmat Singh Dhillon, the Headmaster of the host school expressed his heartfelt gratitude to all the participating teams, the heads of participating schools, the referees and officials and the sports department of the school for brilliant organization of the event and making it resounding success despite the weather challenges.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *