Himachal Pradesh High Court pays tributes to the demise of former Chief Justice

A full Court reference was held today in the High Court of H.P. to mourn the sad demise of Justice A.M. Ahmadi, former Chief Justice of India, and Justice W.A. Shishank, former Chief Justice, High Court of H.P..

Justice A.M. Ahmadi breathed his last on 2nd March 2023, in New Delhi, at the age of 91. He was born on 2nd March 1932. He joined Bar in 1954 and was appointed Judge of the City & Sessions Court of Ahmadabad in 1964. 

Later in the year 1976, Justice A.M. Ahmadi was elevated as Judge of Gujrat High Court. In December 1988 he was elevated as a Judge of the Supreme Court of India.

 After six years Justice A.M. Ahmadi was appointed as Chief Justice of India, and on 25.10.1994, retired as such on 25th March, 1997.

 During this period Justice A.M. Ahmadi has rendered several path-breaking judgments and these judgments epitomize his firm commitment to do complete justice.

Justice W.A. Shishank, left for heavenly abode at the age of 83 years, on 3rd August 2023, at Imphal. He was born on 1st January 1941, in Manipur.

 He worked as Senior Govt. Advocate for the Govt. of Nagaland for seven years and was sworn in as Judge of the Guahati High Court, in January 1989 and was the first Naga to become High Court Judge. 

He was sworn in as the first Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court in December 2000. Justice W.A. Shishank served as Chief Justice of the High Court of H.P. from 24.01.2002 to 31.12.2002.

Speaking on the occasion, Chief Justice M.S. Ramachandra Rao said that both Justice A.M. Ahmadi and Justice W.A. Shishank were distinguished Judges, who had a profound knowledge of all branches of law. 

He said that we have lost great human beings and great jurists and it is not only a loss to the bereaved family members but also to the entire legal fraternity and the nation.

            Judges of High Court of H.P. Justice Tarlok Singh Chauhan, Justice Vivek Singh Thakur, Justice Ajay Mohan Goel, Justice Sandeep Sharma, Justice Jyotsna Rewal Dua, Justice Satyen Vaidya, Justice Sushil Kukreja, Justice Virender Singh, Justice Ranjan Sharma, Justice Bipin Chander Negi and Justice Rakesh Kainthla were also present on the occasion.

Two minutes of silence was also observed as a mark of respect to the departed souls.

Sh. Anup Rattan, Advocate General, Sh Ajay Kumar Sharma, Chairman, Bar Council of H.P., Sh. Ankush Dass Sood, President of H.P. High Court Bar Association, and  Balram Sharma, Deputy Solicitor General of India, also spoke on the occasion and paid tribute to the departed souls. 

The Registrar General conducted the proceedings. The Members of the High Court Bar Association, Registrars, and Officers and Officials of the High Court Registry were also present on the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *