Congress MP from Himachal Pratibha Singh was elevated to CWC, Anand Sharma was inducted as a CWC member 

The widow of six-time Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, President of Congress state unit and three times Member of LS from Mandi Paralimentary Ms. Pratibha Singh figured among 18 Members of the permanent invitee of Congress Working Committee highest executive body of All India Congress committee.

In a new CWC announced on August 20, 2023, Ms Pratibha Singh didn’t figure among 23 Members barring former Union minister Anand Sharma from the state of Himachal Pradesh but she is figured seventh parament invitee of CWC. 

Ms. Singh entered into a wedding lock with Mr. Singh in 1985 after the death of Mr. Singh’s first wife and the two had a daughter and s son. Daughter Ms Aprajita Singh was married to a Sikh family in Punjab and Mr Vikramaditya Singh is the only son and four daughters of Virbhadra Singh from two wives. An elder daughter of Mr Virbhadra Singh Ms Abhilash Singh retired as a High court judge. 

67 yrs Ms Singh made her political and Public life debut as she was elected to 14 the Lak Sabha from Mandi Parliament in 2004. Ms. Singh riding on the political legacy of her spouse Mr. Virbhadra Singh on his high time as Chief minister defeated the Scion of the Kullu royal dynasty Mehashwer Singh of BJP by a margin of 66566 votes after getting 53.41 pc votes. In 2009 Virbhadra Singh who lost the 2008 Assembly poll replaced Ms. Singh as the candidate retained the Congress LS seat and was elevated as Union Minister of Steel in Manmohan Singh -2.

 Mr Singh made his return to state politics in 2012 as he was elected Chief Minister for the sixth term. In Mandi Lok Sabha became vacant following the resignation of Mr Singh. in the bye-election of 2013, Ms. Pratibha Singh retained the vacant seat of Mandi Paralimentary as she remained MP for 15th LS from 2013 to 2014 by defeating Mr. Mehashwer Singh a second time by 1,36727 votes after getting 60.71 pc votes. However, in the 2014 poll for the 16th LS, she lost to the greenhorn of BJP Ram Swaroop Sharma by a margin of 39856 votes after getting 44.47 pc votes.

Ms. & Mr. Singh also decided to bring their son Vikramaditya Singh into public life by transferring him to their royal and poltical dynasty as he fought and won the 2017 Assembly Election from Shimla rural along with Mr. Singh who this time fought from Arki Assembly and both won but the party couldn’t repeat in power. 

 Congress changed Ms. Pratibha Singh as a candidate in the 2019 Paralimentary Election for 17 LS poll by replacing her with Aashray Sharma grandson of Pt Sukhram (former union minister ) but the party again lost the seat along with three other LS seats in the state.

Pratibha Singh inherited the complete political legacy of former chief minister Virbhadra Singh after his death in 2021 which later helped her to rise in the Political ladder to party top leaders.

 The mysterious suicide committed by a BJP MP in 2020 at his residence in New Delhi again turned the destiny of Ms Singh as she won over BJP candidate Mr. Khushal Chand in 2021 by a narrow margin of 8766 votes by getting 49.23 pc votes. 

Before the 2022 Assembly Election Pratibha was also elevated to Himachal Pradesh State Congress Committee president replacing Kuldeep Singh Rathore from this post. In the 2022 Assembly Election, Ms. Pratibha Singh couldn’t perform too well as the party won three seats out of 17 assemblies from Mandi Paralimentary despite she was a sitting Member of Parliament. She was expected to be elected leader of the Congress Legislature party in 2022 but most of MLAs supported Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu as leader of Congress Vidhayak Dal(CLP) Ms Singh succeeded in elevating her son Vikramaditya Singh as cabinet minister in Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu nine Member council of ministers.

Now Ms. Pratibha Singh who is a permanent invitee in CWC and has continued as state president for the last more years likely to fight Mandi Paralimentary for the fourth term and probable victory of Congress on all the four Lok Sabha seats may offer her cabinet birth in INDIA alliance but all depends upon the united fight within the state party unit. 

Congress likely to make three more cabinet induction in the state government as Mr Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu and Ms Pratibha Singh has been consulted by party incharge Rajiv Shukla and party AICC leader Malika Arjunkhardge. 

Congress could wrest the remaining three LS seats from BJP depending upon the party’s united face barring Hamirpur the Congress party is considered weakest. Mr Jai Ram Thakur would work to defeat Ms Singh wholeheartedly and Me Sukhu to defeat Anurag Thakur is a grey area in politics that political analysts consider unpredictable. According to them, Pratibha Singh is considered close to Jai Ram Thakur and Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu to Former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal. 

Baring Shimla and Kangra Lok Sabha INDIA alliance having two to three percent third party votes would help the Congress but Hamirpur and Mandi the Political LS milieu is unpredictable as Congress power center currently rests in Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu and Ms. Pratibha Singh but two are not on the same page and Both BJP and Congress are uncertain of their victory.

Ms. Pratibha Singh also belonged to the Junga royal princely estate and also enjoyed a double royal dynastic legacy. BJP never hit Ms Pratibha Singh for dynastic politics as she holds mass support and has the legacy of former chief minister Virbhadra Singh who was a mascot. 

State politics within the dynasty chemistry helped the Congress party and it was never discredited for elevating a one-family rule however there are a number of leaders in the party who couldn’t not allured by the BJP.

No mass base leader including Pratibha Singh and Mr. Vikramaditya Singh despite having a lot of allurement joined the BJP however nothing is impossible given the role of central agencies and the old case registered against them (under Section 13 ( 2 ) r / w 13 ( 1 ) ( e ) of the Prevention Corruption Act, 1988 and Section 109 IPC by CBI) in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *