Manhunt continues for Shimla Municipal polls candidates

Manhunt continues for Shimla MC poll candidates as no nomination was filed on the first day of filling paper on Thursday, a state election commission official confirmed.

Ruling Congress and Opposition BJP and CPM in the state are still grappling with Manhunt to search for a winning candidate to put in the fray for the ongoing Shimla MC poll. BJP announced 24 candidates on Wednesday and also announced five more candidates on Thursday. 

Party spokesperson said that a total of 29 candidates have been shortlisted and for remaining five are yet to be announced. The ruling Congress didn’t announce all 18 candidates also as the party declared only 16 candidates so far.

Among the five candidates announced by BJP are Ritu Koundal from Toutikandi, Sunanda Karol from Rambazar, Rajan Agarwal from Jakhu, Smt Kusum Thakur from Panthaghati and Smt Brij Sood from Kalnog. 

BJP formed the first Shimla MC government in 2017 have put in 20 women compared to a total of 18 reserved wards for women. 

CPIM has declared only four candidates so far. Today was the first day of filling nominations but no candidate turned up to file the paper and now two days are left to fill nominations on April 17 and 18. Polling is to be held on May 2 and the counting of votes and results is to be declared on May 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *