5 specially abled earns prestigious fellowship

Five disabled PhD  Scholars of Himachal  Pradesh University have earned prestigious National Fellowship. The central government’s ministry of social justice and empowerment every year gave about 200 Fellowships to the disabled students on merit basis. Vice Chancellor Prof. SP Bansal has congratulated them and said that the University is proud of them. Nodal Officer for Persons with Disabilities Ajay Srivastava said this is the first time that such a good number of our students have earned this fellowship.

These students are Pratibha Thakur (Pol Sc), Mukesh Kumar (Education), Rajpal (History) Sanjay Bhairav (Yoga),  and Hel Singh (Commerce). He said that Himachal Pradesh University is developing a a disabled friendly institution. Eight disabled students are pursuing PhD having earned JRF. They include Saveena Jahan and Rama (Hindi), Anjna Thakur (Botany),  Shweta Sharma (Music), Annu (Sanskrit),  Ajay Kumar (History), Pankaj Sharma (Tourism) and Vimal Jatav.He further said that education and Hostel facilities for the disabled students are absolutely free. There is an accessible Library equipped  with computers and talking software for visually  impaired and other disabled students. The project worth Rs. 5 crore to make the campus and hostels accessible with lifts and ramps on progress. Vice Chancellor Prof SP Bansal said the University would provide all necessary facilities to the disabled students to enable them to scale more heights. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *